Monday, January 16, 2017

The Press Gang-Medusa 5

Wiener Dog Records

Formed by lead vocalist/rhythm guitarist Colin McCulloch, The Press Gang is a eleven year old band from Calgary, Alberta that has four full-length albums and one 7-track EP to it's name. The group's latest recording is the 10-track "Medusa 5" and it was released back in late October of 2016. With Chad Laing (lead guitar), Lindsay Arnold (bass), and Derek Lindzon (drums) rounding out the line-up for this energetic  four-piece band, "Medusa 5" proves to be one hell of a lively event where (dive bar-worthy) hard & heavy riff-rock gets nice and toasted with snotty seventies punk and garage metal! With influences that range from The Ramones and the Sex Pistols to Motörhead & (Paul Di'Anno-era) Iron Maiden (to name just a few), The Press Gang is certainly onto something with it's crazy cool sound and it is absolutely mind boggling that they are not more well-known!! Given how much fun the group's new album is maybe that will change...

Labels: , ,

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Windshades-Crucified Dreams

Atomic Stuff Productions

Active since mid-2015, Italy's Windshades just released it's first official recording, "Crucified Dreams", this past November. It is a (digital only) three-track EP that combines the opera-like voice of lead singer Chiara Manzoli with elements of hard rock, melodic metal, and guitar-driven traditional heavy metal. In addition to the craftily-assembled title track (which is arguably the best song of the lot!), "Crucified Dreams" features the numbers "Metafora" and "Resurrection". With guitarist and composer Matteo Usberti, guitarist Riccardo Soresina, bassist Andrea Bissolati, and drummer Carlo Bergamaschi rounding things out for this new band, "Crucified Dreams" is a solid B+ recording that points towards better things to come.

Labels: , , , ,

Monday, January 09, 2017

Free Metal Monday: Hellthrasher Productions-2016 Digital Sampler

Hellthrasher Productions

Poland's Hellthrasher Productions has released a free digital sampler. It is available as a name-your-price download by clicking here and it features the following songs:

1. Gjendød - Evig Svart Røyk
2. Serpents Lair - Circumambulating the Stillborn
3. Paroxsihzem - Isolation
4. Ljosazabojstwa - Kamunija Ahniom
5. Desolate Shrine - Crushing Darkness
6. Desecresy - Ritual Ruins
7. Chaos Moon - Amissum
8. Endalok - Englaryk
9. Gespenst - Min Sjael Raadner
10. Decaying - One To Conquer

Labels: , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 07, 2017

Saturday Singles: Rockstar Frame-"Dark Necessities" (Red Hot Chili Peppers cover)

Rockstar Frame is a hard & heavy rock band from Italy that is fronted by lead singer Faith Blurry. I had high praise for the band's debut album "Rock 'N' Roll Mafia" and I expect more of the same when this group releases it's sophomore album, "Bullet For Birthday", in March. This hot new single is a choice cover of the Red Hot Chili Peppers' song "Dark Necessities" and it is all set to appear Rockstar Frame's forthcoming release. So far it is only available to view on YouTube*.

*Warning! The above video features quick flashing videos!!

Labels: , , , , ,

Saturday Singles: The Aftershow-"Kilmister"

Afterlife Music Publishing

The Aftershow is a (killer) new heavy rock/hard rock project from Roxy & Maxine Petrucci. Their debut single, "Kilmister", just came out on December 28th and it finds Roxy (drums) and Maxine (guitar) joined by vocalist Mark Slaughter (Slaughter) and bassist Michael Pisculli. This highly-recommend track (which is available for download on iTunes and Amazon) pays tribute to Motörhead's Lemmy and it is everything that one could hope for given the key players! Hopefully this is more than a one and done deal. 

Labels: , , , , , ,

Friday, January 06, 2017

Inconvenience Store-Kallisti (or Goodbye To The One You Knew Before I Found Him and Had To Let Him Go​.​)


Needham, Massachusetts' experimental band Inconvenience Store has been around in one form or another since late 2011. It doesn't happen very often, but interestingly enough this was a band that I had Interviewed before ever hearing any of it's music. That all changed in early June of 2013 when I covered the group's first studio offering, "Our Ambivalent Everything". That particular EP was dubbed "experimental rock/alternative rock by way of post-punk rock and progressive hardcore" by yours truly and while the experimental part of this young outfit hasn't changed all that much in the years that followed the rest of that description needs to be updated. Crafted by the line-up of Kcutnief Rehsa Hanoj (lead vox, noise electronics, guitar), Mica "On HP" Phones  (guitar, vox), Darren Strange (bass), and Funnels... (drums), "Kallisti (or Goodbye To The One You Knew Before I Found Him and Had To Let Him Go)" is a five-track EP that ends up falling somewhere between (raw) punk/hardcore, post-alternative rock, and flat-out noise rock! Recorded, mixed, mastered by Zach Weeks, Inconvenience Store's latest studio output is fairly abrasive and should get plenty of love from fans of The Jesus Lizard, Big Black, and the Butthole Surfers!! As a fan of all three of those acts (especially Gibby Haynes' outfit!) I make that declaration with a huge smile on my face and hope in my heart that is ultimately the direction that this one-time high school band will go in. When correctly assembled (see the aforementioned trio) punk-fueled noise rock can be a thing of beauty. While they are not quite ready to fill in for any of those three named outfits, Inconvenience Store is headed that way and something deep inside tells me they are not that far off. If your mind's eye is open to it then by all means give this EP a shot. 

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, January 04, 2017

R.I.P.-In the Wind


Originally released back on March 14th, 2016 on vinyl courtesy of Totem Cat Records, "In the Wind" is the full-length debut from Portland, Oregon's R.I.P. It looks as if it was just released on digital last month (which is where I came across it) and if you think that cover is something...well, you should hear the actual music! Available for download by heading here, "In the Wind" is like the bastard offspring of Black Sabbath and a fuzzed-over Motörhead all grown up and playing in a smoked-out, down and dirty 70's hard rock/stoner rock biker band!! Sure enough it isn't a pretty thing to look at, but man oh man do those doom-laden grooves every feel good.......

Tuesday, January 03, 2017

Static Tension-Out of Reach

Buried By Sky Records

The brainchild of lead guitarist Greg Blachman, Static Tension is a four-piece band from Cincinnati, Ohio that competently answers the age old question as to what Alice In Chains would sound like if they added more progressive metal elements to the mix. Initially active between 1999 and 2001 (during which time the group released the album "Paint By Number"), Static Tension was reformed in 2014 and, as of this writing, is rounded out by vocalist Rob Rom, bass guitarist Richie Paik and drummer Anthony "Tony" Sager.  This forthcoming EP is the band's second release since 2014 and it is due to drop on January 6th of 2017. 

Labels: , , ,